(Scholarship) NBHM: For Pursuing PG Studies (M.A./M.Sc) in Mathematics Academic Year 2011-12

National Board for Higher Mathematics

Scholarships For Pursuing Post Graduate Studies (M.A./M.Sc) in Mathematics For The Academic Year 2011-12

The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) was set up by the Government of India under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), in the year 1983, to foster the development of higher mathematics in the country, to formulate policies for the development of mathematics, help in the establishment and development of mathematical centres and give financial assistance to research projects and to doctoral and postdoctoral scholars. NBHM functions essentially autonomously framing its own budget taking into account the funds made available by DAE.

The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) invites applications for the grant of scholarships to students for pursuing studies for M.A. / M.Sc. degree in mathematics.

Eligibility :

Applicants must be motivated B. A. / B. Sc. first class degree holders, or students, who have appeared for B. A. / B. Sc. final year examination and expect a bachelors degree with first class, or B.Sc. (honours) degree holders with at least second class, or students who have appeared for B. Sc. (honours) final year examination and expect a B. Sc. (honours) degree with at least second class. Students who have completed three years of an integrated M. Sc. course with cumulative grades equivalent to first class are eligible to apply. Students with good academic record and who are in M.Sc. (Part-I) or in the fifth year of a 5 year integrated M.Sc. course are also eligible to apply.

Age Limit: Applicants should be below the age of 23 years as on January 1, 2011. Exceptional cases, however, may be considered on merit.

The Scholarship:

Successful candidates will be eligible to receive a scholarship of Rs.6,000/- (Rs. six thousand only) per month, during their two-year (oneyear if the student is granted the scholarship during the second year) M.A. / M. Sc. programme. The scholarships are sanctioned for one year at a time and are renewable at the end of the year, subject to satisfactory progress. Students who are in M.Sc. (Part-I) or in the fifth year of a 5 year integrated M.Sc. course will get the scholarship only for one year. To avail of the scholarship the students have to be enrolled in an appropriate institution, in India, for an M.A. / M.Sc. degree in Mathematics. The scholarship will be paid through the institution they join.

Selection Process

Selection Will be made on the basic of a written test followed by interview of short listed candidates.The written test will be held on Saturday , September 24,2011.

Website: http://www.nbhm.dae.gov.in

Click Here For More Details

Last Date : 01.08.2011

Exam Date: 24.09.2011

Courtesy: nbhm.dae.gov.in